Friday, November 24, 2017

Denison ISD Board Trustees, left to right, seated: Secretary David Hawley, President Randy Sedlacek and Vice President Bruce Hysmith; standing: Ken Altnether, Brian Aspell, Linda Flemming and Bob Rhoden.


Meet the Denison ISD Board Trustees who proudly
serve our Denison school children!


Ken Altnether has served on the Denison ISD School Board since June 2011, when he was appointed to fill the vacancy in Ward 6.  Ken and his wife Angi have been residents of Denison since 1996 and have two children, Audrey and Luke, who are DISD students.  Altnether has a degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Missouri at Rolla and is employed at Texas Instruments. His wife, Dr. Angela Latham, is a practicing physician at Texoma Medical Center.  The Altnether family attends First Christian Church in Denison, where Ken serves as a deacon. 

Linda Flemming is a Denison native who graduated from Denison High School in 1972. She began working in various capacities in the banking industry until her retirement in 2015. Her husband, Lester, is a retired educator. Linda and Lester are the proud parents of two children and five grandchildren. Linda, her son, and her grandson all received Munson Foundation Scholarships upon graduation from DHS. Linda’s hobbies are reading and encouraging her grandchildren in their various activities. She was appointed to the board in August 2015 to fill the vacancy in Ward 1, Place 5.

Bruce Hysmith has been a Denison ISD school board trustee for Ward 4 since 2001 when he was appointed to fill a vacancy in Ward 4. During his tenure on the board, he has served as both president and vice president. Bruce and his family moved to Denison from Palacios in 1977, and with the exception of their son, Bill (who graduated from Palacios High School in 1977), all of the Hysmith children (Larry, Jennifer and John) attended Lamar Elementary School and graduated from Denison High School. Additionally, five grandchildren are graduates of DHS and two are currently DISD students, along with one great-grandchild. Bruce’s wife, Wanda, retired from DISD in 1999 after 20 years of service; Bruce recently retired in 2015 after a 41-year career with Texas Parks and Wildlife Department as fisheries biologist for public waters in eight north Texas Counties, including Lake Texoma. As a school board trustee, Bruce is proud to have been part of  the recent upgrading of DISD facilities, the construction of the new Denison High School and the extensive renovation of Munson Stadium. Along with improved facilities, Hysmith says he is also proud to continue the tradition of excellence in education at Denison ISD. “It is great to be a Yellow Jacket!”

Randy Sedlacek has served on the Denison ISD Board of Trustees since 2008. Previously to being on the school board, Randy served as an elder for six years at Sherman Bible Church and led several short-term mission trips into Mexico. Randy and his wife Kathy have been married since 1986 and have two daughters who have both graduated in the top ten of their classes at Denison High School. Randy's younger brother, David, also graduated from Denison High School as Valedictorian in 1985. Both Randy's wife and daughter, Chelsea, work for Sherman ISD. Randy is an entrepreneur and owns two businesses specializing in the fabricated steel construction industry. He also founded in 1998 which is an online community for the steel industry and is still very popular today. Along with his wife he volunteers with Young Life as an adult leader ministering to high school students in Grayson County. In his spare time he enjoys traveling and photographing landscapes and architecture.

Brian Aspell has served on the DISD School Board since 2011. He brings to the Board experience gained from more than 20 years of leadership, management, and technical experience in the manufacturing industry.  Prior to joining Champion Cooler as Vice   President in 2011, Brian was Assistant General Manager of a $200 million manufacturing   facility in Clinton, TN.  He has built his career from the bottom up starting on the shop floor   to his current position as Vice President of Champion Cooler.  Brian was born and raised in Fostoria, Ohio but graduated high school in Blanchard, Oklahoma.  He finished his   Bachelor’s Degree at Capital University in 2001 when he was 29 year old.  He is a proud husband of 23 years and the father of four wonderful children.

David Hawley has served on the Denison ISD Board of Trustees since 1998 and currently holds the position of Secretary. David served as a Deacon for 10 years and was inducted as an Elder eight years ago at the First Christian Church in Denison. David and his wife Kathy were married in 1983. Kathy is a Deacon at First Christian Church, works at Classic Nissan in Denison, and both David and Kathy are graduates of Denison High School. They have two sons, both Eagle Scouts, who are also graduates of DHS. David retired from the Grayson County Sheriff’s Office in July 2014 after proudly serving 34 years. He spent the last ten years of his L.E. Career supervising the Civil Section, Crime Prevention and Public Relations. After a short five-month retirement, David ran for and was elected Grayson County Justice of the Peace for Precinct 2. David is active in the Truancy Prevention Efforts by visiting the school in his precinct, talking to at-risk students, and attempting to intervene with alternative in hopes they won’t be referred to come before his court. David is the Scoutmaster for Troop 611 in Denison and has been awarded several awards in his 20-year tenure in scouting. David is active in civic groups and organizations and utilizes his scouts to help volunteer in his community. In his spare time, David enjoys spending time traveling with his wife Kathy and riding their SeaDoo’s on Lake Texoma.



DISD Board Trustees serve with pride, honor!

On the third Tuesday of every month, Denison ISD Board Trustees gather at 1201 S. Rusk Avenue in the Administration Building’s Board Room to serve and meet the educational needs of more than 4,500 Denison ISD students.  Board President Randy Sedlacek, Vice President Bruce Hysmith, Secretary David Hawley, Ken Altnether, Bob Rhoden and Linda Flemming all serve without pay or reward, other than the gratification that comes with knowing they’re helping children achieve and succeed in here to read more.


Click here for September 20, 2016 Board News.